You are here

State Safety Oversight Contacts

Arizona Department of Transportation

Herman Bernal 
SSO Program Manager 
206 S 17th Ave, Mail Drop 310B 
Phoenix, AZ 85007 
Phone: (602) 712-6095 
Email: HBernal@azdot.gov
Website: https://www.azdot.gov/ 

Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department

Charles Brewer 
Transportation Specialist 
10324 Interstate 30 
Little Rock, AR 72209 
Phone: (501) 569-2478 
Email: charles.brewer@ahtd.ar.gov 
Website: http://www.arkansashighways.com/

California Public Utilities Commission

Daren Gilbert 
Manager, Rail Transit and Crossings Branch 
180 Promenade Circle, Suite 115 
Sacramento, CA 95834 
Phone: (916) 928-6858 
Email: daren.gilbert@cpuc.ca.gov
Website: http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/

Colorado Public Utilities Commission

Pamela Fischhaber 
Chief, Rail/Transit Safety 
1560 Broadway, Suite 250 
Denver, CO 80202 
Phone: (303) 894-2529 
Email: Pamela.Fischhaber@state.co.us
Website: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/puc

D.C. Fire Department

Michael Walko
SSO Program Manager
D.C. Fire and EMS Department
1100 4th St., S.W.
7th Floor
Phone: (202) 673-3300
Email: michael.walko@dc.gov 
Website: https://fems.dc.gov/

Joseph Tebo
Rail Safety Oversight Officer
Phone: (202) 397-3965
Email: joseph.tebo@dc.gov
Website: https://fems.dc.gov/

Florida Department of Transportation

Victor Wiley 
Transit Safety Programs Manager 
605 Suwannee Street, MS-26 
Tallahassee, FL 32399 
Phone: (850) 414-4525 
Email: victor.wiley@dot.state.fl.us
Website: http://www.fdot.gov/

Georgia Department of Transportation

Michael Somersall
SSO Manager
600 West Peachtree Street, NE, Plaza Level 
Atlanta, GA 30308 
Phone: (404) 631-1304
Email: msomersall@dot.ga.gov 
Website: http://www.dot.ga.gov/

Hawaii Department of Transportation

Brandon Eshenour 
SSO Program Manager 
869 Punchbowl Street #511
Honolulu, HI 96813 
Phone: (808) 587-2136
Email: brandon.j.eshenour@hawaii.gov
Website: http://hidot.hawaii.gov/

Illinois Department of Transportation

James Hickey, P.E.  
69 W. Washington, Suite 2100
Chicago, IL 60602 
Phone: (312) 793-0436
Email: James.Hickey@illinois.gov 
Website: http://www.idot.illinois.gov/

Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development

Kevin Lawson 
SSO Program Manager 
8900 Jimmy Wedell Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70807 
Phone: (225) 379-3032  
Email: kevin.lawson@la.gov
Website: http://wwwsp.dotd.la.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Maryland Department of Transportation

Bud Frank
Director of Homeland Security
Emergency Management and Rail Safety
Office of Homeland Security, Emergency Management & Rail Safety
7201 Corporate Center Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
Phone: (410) 865-1161
Email: bfrank@mdot.state.md.us 
Website: http://www.mdot.maryland.gov/

Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities

Scott Andrews
Assistant Director, Department of Public Utilities
Transportation Oversight Division 
One South Station
Boston, MA 02110 
Phone: (617) 305-3773 
Email: Scott.Andrews@state.ma.us 
Website: http://www.mass.gov/eea/grants-and-tech-assistance/guidance-technical-assistance/agencies-and-divisions/dpu/

Michigan Department of Transportation

Daniel Harris 
State Safety Oversight Manager 
Office of Rail, 425 West Ottawa Street, 
P.O. Box 30050 
Lansing, MI 48909 
Phone: (517) 335-1005 
Email: harrisd16@michigan.gov
Website: http://www.michigan.gov/mdot/

Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Timothy Rogotzke 
Minnesota Rail Safety Oversight Program Manager 
540 Fairview Avenue North, Suite 100
Saint Paul, MN 55104
Phone: (651) 642-0661 
Email: tim.rogotzke@state.mn.us
Website: https://dps.mn.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Missouri Department of Transportation

Justin Sobeck 
Light Rail Safety Specialist 
105 West Capitol 
Jefferson City, MO 65102 
Phone: (573) 526-2169 
Email: Justin.Sobeck@modot.mo.gov
Website: http://www.modot.org/  

New Jersey Department of Transportation

Todd Kropilak
Principal Engineer Planning
Frieght Planing and Services
1035 Parkway Avenue 
Trenton, NJ 08625 
Phone: (609) 530-2551 
Email: Todd.Kropilak@dot.nj.gov
Website: http://www.state.nj.us/transportation/

New York Public Transportation Safety Board

Stephen Trudell 
Program Manager 
50 Wolf Road, POD #53 
Albany, NY 12232 
Phone: (518) 457-7596 
Email: Stephen.Trudell@dot.ny.gov
Website: https://www.dot.ny.gov/divisions/operating/osss/ptsb

North Carolina Department of Transportation

George Young 
Safety Enforcement and Oversight Manager 
1553 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699 
Phone: (919) 715-8742 
Email: gyoung@ncdot.gov
Website: https://www.ncdot.gov/

Ohio Department of Transportation

Brian Kummerer
SSO Program Manager/Safety Coordinator
Office of Transit – Mailstop 3110
Columbus, OH 43223 
Phone: (614) 728-8916 
Email: Brian.Kummerer@dot.ohio.gov 
Website: http://www.dot.state.oh.us/pages/home.aspx

Oklahoma Department of Transportation

Ernestine Mbroh
Transit Programs Division Manager
Phone: (405) 522-1829 
Email: embroh@odot.org
Website: https://ok.gov/odot/

Oregon Department of Transportation

Lynda Horst 
Rail Transit Specialist 
555 13th Street, NE, Suite 3 
Salem, OR 97301 
Phone: (503) 986-4096 
Email: lynda.horst@odot.state.or.us
Website: http://www.oregon.gov/odot/Pages/index.aspx

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

Elizabeth G. Bonini  
Division Chief
PA Department of Transportation 
Bureau of Public Transportation
Urban Transportation Division
P. O. Box 3151  
400 North Street  
Harrisburg, PA 17105-3151
Phone: (717) 787.1207 
Email: ebonini@pa.gov 
Website: http://www.penndot.gov/

Puerto Rico State Emergency and Disaster Management Agency

Roberto Vila 
SSO Program Manager 
P.O. Box 194140 
San Juan, PR 00919 
Phone: (939) 241-0326 
Email: premassotu@gmail.com
Website: http://www2.pr.gov/agencias/aemead/Pages/default.aspx

Tennessee Department of Transportation

Brian Sanderlin
Transportation Manager
Phone: (615) 253-1030
Email: Brian.Sanderlin@tn.gov
Website: https://www.tn.gov/tdot

Texas Department of Transportation

Susan Hausmann 
State Safety Oversight Manager 
Rail Division, Texas Department of Transportation 
125 East 11th. Street 
Austin, TX 78701 
Phone: (512) 416-2833 
Email: susan.hausmann@txdot.gov
Website: https://www.txdot.gov/

Tri-State Oversight Committee/District Department of Transportation

Klara Baryshev
District Department of Transportation
Progressive Transportation Services Administration (PTSA)
55 M Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003
Phone: (202) 741-5834 
Email: Klara.baryshev@dc.gov
Website: http://www.tristateoversight.org/ 

Tri-State Oversight Committee/Maryland

Bud Frank
Director of Homeland Security
Emergency Management and Rail Safety
Office of Homeland Security, Emergency Management & Rail Safety
7201 Corporate Center Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
Phone: (410) 865-1161
Email: bfrank@mdot.state.md.us 
Website: http://www.mdot.maryland.gov/

Christopher Holland
Rail Safety Program Manager
Maryland Department of Transportation 
Office of Homeland Security, Emergency Management and Rail Safety 
7201 Corporate Center Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
Phone: (410) 865-1010
Email: cholland@mdot.state.md.us
Website: http://www.mdot.maryland.gov/

Tri-State Oversight Committee/Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation

Rudolph S. Flowers
State Safety Oversight Program Manager
Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT)
VDOT NOVA Headquarters Office
4975 Alliance Drive, 2nd Floor 
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 259-3365
Email: Rudy.Flowers@drpt.virginia.gov
Website: http://www.tristateoversight.org/

Sharmila Samarasinghe
Rail Transit Safety Programs Administrator
Tri State Oversight Committee (Vice Chair)
Dept of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT)
4975 Allicance Drive 2E-435
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 259-3248 
Email: sharmila.samarasinghe@drpt.virginia.gov
Website: http://www.tristateoversight.org/

Utah Department of Transportation

Jim Golden
SSO Program Manager 
4501 South 2700 West, P.O. Box 141265 
Salt Lake City, UT 84114 
Phone: (801) 360-0052
Email: jimgolden@utah.gov 
Website: https://www.udot.utah.gov/main/f?p=100:6:0::::V,T:,1

Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation

Sharmila Samarasinghe
Rail Transit Safety Programs Administrator
Tri State Oversight Committee (Vice Chair)
Dept of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT)
4975 Allicance Drive 2E-435
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 259-3248 
Email: sharmila.samarasinghe@drpt.virginia.gov
Website: http://www.drpt.virginia.gov/


Andrew Ennis
State Safety Oversight Program Manager
Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT)
600 East Main Street, Suite 2102
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 786-3434 
Email: Andrew.Ennis@drpt.virginia.gov
Website: http://www.drpt.virginia.gov/

Washington State Department of Transportation

Michael Flood 
Rail Transit Safety and Security Officer 
401 2nd Avenue S., Suite 560 
Seattle, WA 98104 
Phone: (206) 464-1291 
Email: floodm@wsdot.wa.gov
Website: http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/

West Virginia Department of Transportation

Josh Brown
SSO Program Manager
Building 5, Room 906, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East 
Charleston, WV 25305 
Phone: (304) 558-0428 
Email: Josh.O.Brown@wv.gov 
Website: http://www.transportation.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Eric Stoegbauer
State Safety Oversight Manager
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910
Madison, WI 53707 
Phone: (608) 267-6680
Email: eric.stoegbauer@dot.wi.gov 
Website: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx

 

Updated: Thursday, March 9, 2017
Submit Feedback >