USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Transit Advisory Committee for Safety


Nationwide, public transportation is one of the safest modes of transportation, with more than 2.5 million people boarding transit vehicles in the U.S. every day. Transit agencies have fewer fatalities and injuries than any other transportation mode. Following a period in the early 2000s, the safety record of the transit industry began to deteriorate. The Transit Advisory Committee for Safety (TRACS) was one of many initiatives FTA implemented to improve transit safety. In November 2009, the U.S. Transportation Secretary authorized the establishment of TRACS.

TRACS provides information, advice, and recommendations on transit safety to the U.S. Transportation Secretary and FTA Administrator, but does not make determinations of fact or policy. TRACS is comprised of a diverse panel of professionals representing a variety of stakeholders and interests to cooperatively address transit safety issues by recommending solutions based on agreed-upon facts. The committee's level of expertise and balanced viewpoints enable early identification of potential problem areas and accelerated corrective actions, thereby creating greater safety and public confidence in the nation's public transportation systems. 

On behalf of the U.S. Secretary of Transportation, the FTA Administrator will name an executive director for the committee who serves as the designated federal official responsible for ensuring compliance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act requirements.

  • Chairperson: Jim Keane
  • Vice Chairperson: Lisa Staes

Subscribe to TRACS news through email updates; select "Safety & Oversight/Transit Advisory Committee for Safety (TRACS)."

2022-2024 Transit Advisory Committee for Safety

On December 15, 2022, Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg announced the appointment of 24 members to the 2022–2024 Transit Advisory Committee for Safety:



Edward Abel 

Director of Operational Safety, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority  

Brian Alberts 

Senior Director of Safety and Advisory Services, American Public Transportation Association  

Johanna Cockburn 

Director of Transportation, City of Greensboro  

Enjoli DeGrasse

Acting Director of Safety and Health, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Beverly Edwards 

Chief Operating Officer, First Transit  

Rebecca Frankhouser 

Chief Safety Officer and Managing Director of Safety, Security, and Quality Assurance, King County Metro  

David Harris  

Transit and Rail Division Director, New Mexico Department of Transportation (DOT) 

Molly Hughes 

Public Transportation Safety Administrator, Washington State DOT  

Donna Johnson 

Vice President and Chief Safety Officer, Dallas Area Rapid Transit  

Laura Karr 

Associate General Counsel, Amalgamated Transit Union 

Jim Keane 

General Manager of Operations Safety, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey  

Thomas Lamb 

Chief of Innovation and Technology, Metropolitan Transportation Authority, New York City Transit 

Brian Lapp 

Chief Health and Safety Officer, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Raymond Lopez 

Deputy Executive Officer of Corporate Safety, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority  

Rachel Maleh 

Executive Director, Operation Lifesaver, Inc. 

Santiago Osorio 

Chief Safety Officer, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County 

Karen Philbrick 

Executive Director, San Jose State University, Mineta Transportation Institute  

Ashley Porter 

Transit Safety Programs Manager, Florida DOT  

Patrick Preusser 

Director of Rapid Transit, City and County of Honolulu, Department of Transportation Services 

Reggie Reese 

Chief Safety Officer, Pierce Transit  

Adam Sharkey 

Deputy Director, River Cities Public Transit  

Justin Sobeck 

State Safety Oversight Program Manager and Passenger Rail Safety Specialist, Missouri DOT 

Lisa Staes 

Associate Director of Transit Safety and Workforce Development Program, University of South Florida, Center for Urban Transportation Research 

Gardner Tabon 

Executive Vice President of Systemwide Accessibility and Chief Safety Officer, Capital Metropolitan Transit Agency 

Curtis Tate 

International Administrative Vice President, Transport Workers Union  

Notices and Participation

TRACS meets as a full committee at least twice a year. Committee meetings are announced in the Federal Register Notice (FRN) 15 days prior and are open to the public. The FRN includes the agenda, date, time, location, and purpose of the meeting.

Anyone wishing to formally address TRACS or submit materials for review during the meeting must notify the FTA by the dates indicated in the FRN that announces the meeting. Materials to be reviewed at the committee’s convenience may be submitted at any time to the FTA.

January 31, 2023 TRACS Full Committee Meeting

June 7-8, 2023 TRACS Full Committee Meeting

December 6-7, 2023 TRACS Full Committee Meeting


Past Activities