USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Transit Automation Research Funding Opportunities

Past Opportunities

  • FTA’s Accelerating Innovative Mobility (AIM) Initiative provides funding to support and advance innovation in the transit industry. On August 27, 2020, FTA announced 25 projects in 24 states and one territory will receive a share of approximately $14 million in funding through the AIM initiative. View the project selections.
  • FTA’s Integrated Mobility Innovation (IMI) Program funds projects that demonstrate innovative and effective practices, partnerships and technologies to enhance public transportation effectiveness, increase efficiency, expand quality, promote safety and improve the traveler experience. FTA’s IMI 2019 funding opportunity provided $15 million for demonstration projects. The deadline for applications was August 6, 2019.
  • In January 2019, FTA made $500,000 in Section 5312 funds available for transit agencies through the Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR). Selected transit agencies will become transit bus automation strategic partners and will help advance transit bus automation through research, development, demonstration and deployment projects, and evaluation of technology of national significance to public transportation. Strategic partners will be announced in summer 2019.
  • USDOT made up to $60 million in federal funding available for Automated Driving System (ADS) Demonstration Grants in December 2018. Applications were accepted through March 21, 2019. Selected projects are expected to be announced in summer 2019.