Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Find the Latest Information on the Coronavirus/COVID-19 at FTA's Coronavirus landing page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Region 8

Map of Region 8

Areas Served

6 States: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

25 Urbanized Areas, including: Denver and Salt Lake City

22 Tribal Nations


The Region 8 Office is located in the Byron Rogers Federal Building in downtown Denver, Colorado. The Region 8 staff pools expertise from a wide range of fields including transportation planning, environmental protection, civil engineering, program and grants management, administrative support, civil rights and legal counsel.  Contractors assist staff to provide program oversight.  Annually, Region 8 assists more than 60 grantees and administers more than 240 grants throughout the region, providing oversight for approximately $1.2 billion in federal funding of transportation projects.  

Current data for each State can be found in the FTA Data Dashboard.  We look forward to helping regional communities plan, apply, execute, and complete transit projects that enhance the quality of life.

Last updated: Tuesday, December 1, 2015