USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

What is the Executive Order on Human Transportation Coordination?

Executive Order 13330 signed by President Bush on February 24, 2004, established the Interagency Transportation Coordinating Council on Access and Mobility, which was originally chaired by former Secretary of Transportation Norman Y. Mineta. The purpose of the Council is to coordinate 62 federal programs across nine federal departments that provide funding to be used in support of human services transportation. The Council is comprised of 11 federal departments, including the Departments of Transportation, Health and Human Services, Labor, Education, Housing and Urban Affairs, Agriculture, Justice, Interior, the Veterans Administration, the Social Security Administration and the National Council on Disabilities. Specifically, the Executive Order requires the participating departments to develop a report to the President that in part, identifies the most useful federal, state, tribal and local practices in coordinating transportation service; identifies the substantive and procedural requirements of duplicative Federal laws and regulations, or restrict efficient transportation operation; and provides individual departmental reports on the progress being made in simplifying access to transportation,  producing cost effective service within existing resources, and reducing duplication.