Press Release

You are here

DOT Announces Appointments to the Transit Advisory Committee for Safety (TRACS)

U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx announced today the appointment of eight new and one returning member to TRACS.  The safety committee was chartered in 2009 to provide a forum for the development, consideration, and communication of information regarding public transit safety. An open nominations process solicited individuals knowledgeable of trends or issues related to rail transit and bus transit safety, and were evaluated on factors including leadership and organizational skills, geographic representation, staff diversity, and the overall balance of industry representation.  Appointments are two-year terms. 

New TRACS members include:  Herman Bernal, State Safety Oversight Program Manager, Arizona Department of Transportation; Toby Fauver, Deputy Secretary for Multimodal Transportation, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation; David Goeres, Chief Safety & Security Officer, Utah Transit Authority; David Hahn, Sr. Program Specialist, Safety & Security, American Public Transportation Association; Jeanne Krieg, Chief Executive Officer, Eastern Contra Costa Transit; Jeff Lau, Chief Safety Officer, Bay Area Rapid Transit; Eric Muntan, Chief, Office Safety & Security, Miami-Dade Transit; and John Samuelsen, President, Transport Workers Union of America of Greater New York (Local 100).  The one returning member is Alvin Pearson, Assistant General Manager, Memphis Area Transit Authority. 

Updated: Monday, May 21, 2018
Submit Feedback >