You are here

Tribal Transit Program

Public Transportation on Indian Reservations (5311(c))

Program Overview  

Section 5311(j) of MAP-21, Public Law 112-41 (July 6, 2012), authorizes the Public Transportation on Indian Reservations Program (Tribal Transit Program (TTP)) for Fiscal Years (FY) 2013-2015. The modified Tribal Transit Program continues to be a set-aside from the Formula Grants for Rural Areas program but now consists of a $25 million formula program and a $5 million discretionary grant program subject to the availability of appropriations. A 10 percent local match is required under the discretionary program, however, there is no local match required under the formula program.

Eligible Recipients

Only Federally-recognized tribes are eligible recipients under the Tribal Transit Program. However, tribes which are not federally recognized remain eligible to apply to the State as a subrecipient for funding under the State's apportionment.

Eligible Activities 

Federally recognize tribes may use the funding for capital, operating, planning, and administrative expenses for public transit projects that meet the growing needs of rural tribal communities. Examples of eligible activities include: capital projects; operating costs of equipment and facilities for use in public transportation; and the acquisition of public transportation services, including service agreements with private providers of public transportation services. A description of eligible activities can also be found in the May 9, 2013 Notice of Funding Availability: Solicitation of Grant Applications for FY 2013 Tribal Transit Program Funds; and Responses to the November 9, 2012 Solicitation of Comments Federal Register Notice.

FTA Regional Tribal Liaisons 

Federal Transit Administration's Regional Tribal Liaisons (note: Region 3 does not have a Tribal Liaison)

  • Region 1: Sean Sullivan
  • Region 2: James Goveia
  • Region 4: Tajsha LaShore, Robert Buckley
  • Region 5: Angelica Salgado
  • Region 6: Luciana Nears, Lynn Hayes
  • Region 7: Cathy Monroe
  • Region 8: Jennifer Stewart
  • Region 9: Dominique Paukowits
  • Region 10: Scot Rastelli


Webinars & Training  

SAFETEA-LU Archives 

Updated: Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Submit Feedback >