Official US Government Icon

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Secure Site Icon

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Find the Latest Information on the Coronavirus/COVID-19 at FTA's Coronavirus landing page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Region 7

Map of Region 7

Areas Served

Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska, and Kansas


FTA's Region VII Office, located in Kansas City, Missouri, serves the states of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and parts of Illinois. We look forward to helping you plan, apply, execute, and complete transit projects in the MINK region under the various FTA programs. It is our vision to serve you, the customers, and to make the public transportation services a mode of choice in the MINK region. 

The region serves 56 grantees in five states and covers 23 urbanized areas, including Des Moines, Kansas City, Omaha, St. Louis and Wichita, and eight Tribal Nations.

Region VII has awarded approximately $6.8 billion in federal funds, including $279 million awarded in Fiscal Year 2018. These funds have been used for bus vehicle, bus facility, bus rapid transit, light rail, streetcar, van pool and passenger ferry projects. 

Last updated: Friday, June 26, 2020